Institute of African Studies

Structure of the Institute:

The Institute is made up of the Administrative Unit (comprising the Director, his secretary, Secretary to the Institute, who deputizes in the absence of the Director, Higher Executive Officers, Computer operators and Janitor), the Research Library (comprising Librarian and assistant), the Documentation and Publications Unit, the Museum Unit (comprising Curator and Museum assistants), the Ethnography Unit (comprising ethnographers), the Technical Services and Cinematographic (Audio-visual/ Cinema) Unit (comprising the Cinematographers and Camera Operator),the Research Unit (consisting of research fellows) and an Exhibition Center (where research books are sold to the general public). There is a sub-unit of the Technical Services Department called the ICT section (comprising the System Analyst).


  Academic Staff

Nwabueze, Emeka Patrick,

Professor/ Director.

Nwaezeigwe, Nwankwo Tony, BA, MA, PhD

Senior Research Fellow.

Omenma, Jude Tochukwu,

Research Fellow I.

Iwundu, Ifeanyichukwu Emmanuel, PhD,

Research Fellow II.

Ohia, Nkiru Christiana, PhD,

Research Fellow II.

Aniago Magnus Aniago, PhD,

Research Fellow II.

Ibenekwu, Ikpechukwuka Eugene,

Research Fellow II.

Okagu, George Ogbonna,

Research Fellow II.

Ezeigbo, Joy Chisara,

Research Fellow II.

Orajaka, Susan Nwakaego,

Research Fellow II.

Ogbonne, Ijeoma Pauline,

Assistant Research Fellow

Administrative Staff

Ugwuja, Emmanuel Emeka, BA, PGD (Nig)

Asst. Registrar/ IAS Secretary.

(Past IAS Secretaries: Ibe I.I. and Orjiekwe A.)

Enemma, Obiageli Beatrice, B.Sc (Hons) (ESUT)

Higher Executive Officer,

Nwamuoh, Justice Ihedire, B.Sc (Hons) (Nig)

Higher Executive Officer/ Ethnographer.

Ugwu, Bridget Nnenna,

Assistant Executive Officer.

Onovo Calister Chinwendu,

Assistant Executive Officer,

Ugwuanyi, Celestina Kanene,

Snr. D.E.O./Clerical Officer.

Ifoh, Chukwudi Kingsley,

Data Entry Operator/ Clerical Officer.


Amajo, Onyemuwa Nnorom, BA, (ABSU)

Senior Ethnographer.

Awa, Ogbu Emmanuel, BA, PGD (Nig

Senior Ethnographer.

Michael-Aliga, Chiamaka Precious, BA (Nig)


Technical Staff

  1. Cinematographers

Unaegbu, Jephthah Elochukwu, BA (Nig)

Senior Cinematographer.

Ogbonna, Samuel Chinwendu, BA (Nig)


  1. Camera man

Onuigbo, Chukwudi Francis,

Technical Assistant.

  1. System Analyst

Tivde, Tertsegha,

System Analyst II.

Museum Staff

Onyejegbu, Maureen Nwando, BA (Nig), MA (Nig)

Curator II.

Ukeje, Anthony Odinaka,

Cultural Officer.

Agbo, Ngozika Edith,

Museum Assistant.


Iloekwe, Gladys Elechi,

Cleaner/ Messenger.


ORJIEKWE, Theodora Adaozo (PhD)

AWA, Ogbu Emmanuel (PGD)

NWADIKE, Tochukwu (MA)

OBIEKWE, Christiana  (MA/PhD)



UNAEGBU, Jephthah Elochukwu (MA)

ORAJAKA, Susan Nwakaego (MA)


ONYEJEGBU, Maureen Nwando (PhD)

IBUOT, Emmanuel (PhD)


EZE, Kelechukwu C. (MA)

NWACHUKWU, Ndubuisi Emmanuel (PhD)

ANIH, Jude Chinagolum (MA)

ANIKE, Stella Ugochukwu (MA)